image002Winners of the Club Marine MIA Marina of the Year Awards have been announced. Awards are for the 2015/16 period and based on performance over the previous financial year period. Winners and finalists were presented with trophies and certificates at the marine15 International Conference and Trade Exhibition held on the Gold Coast 3-5 May. Marina Industries Association President Andrew Chapman said the competition for the Awards was the strongest ever and record number of entries had been received from Australia and other countries. “It is a sign of the growing strength of the marina industries that we are celebrating the excellent achievements of the winners and finalists at marine15.”   

Club Marine CEO Simon McLean said the Awards play an important role in fostering business improvement across the marina industry.  “Congratulations to the winners, finalists and all the entrants in the Awards. The Awards process requires time to reflect on one’s business performance and this in itself is a very healthy process”.     

The winner and finalists in the Award categories are:          

  • Commercial Marina – Up to 140 Boats. Winner – Rivergate Marina and Shipyard QLD.
  • Commercial Marina – 140 Boats and Over. Winner Soldiers Point Marina NSW. Finalists -Marmong Point Marina NSW and d’Alboras Nelson Bay NSW.
  • Club Marina. Winner – Royal Perth Yacht Club WA. Finalists Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club NSW and Southport Yacht Club QLD.
  • International Marina. Winner – Port Denarau Marina Fiji. Finalists – Albany Marina Bahamas, Marina Porto Montenegro and Westhaven Marina NZ.
  • Best Public Boat Harbour. Winner Gladstone Marina QLD. Finalist – Hillarys Boat Harbour WA.
  • Marina Hall of Fame – Commercial Marina – Under 140 Boats – Soldiers Point Marina NSW. 
  • Best Marina Restaurant. Winner Ormeggio – d’Albora Marinas The Spit NSW. Finalists   Waterline Restaurant – Keppel Bay Marina QLD; Waterfront Restaurant – Southport Yacht Club QLD and The Point – Soldiers Point Marina NSW. 
  • Most Innovative Marketing by a Marina. Winner – Soldiers Point Marina NSW. Finalist – Westhaven Marina NZ.
  • Best Community Engagement Initiative by a Marina. Winner Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club NSW. Finalist – Mandurah Offshore Fishing and Sailing Club WA.
  • Best Marina Innovation by a Supplier. Winner – Superior Jetties ‘Waterscape’® . Finalists – Bellingham Marine Australia and Dockpro QLD.
  • Best Boat Yard – Up To 20 Boats. Winner – Fenwicks Marina NSW. Finalist – Q Service, The Quays Marina NSW.
  • Best Boat Yard – 20 Plus Boats. Winner – Gold Coast City Marina QLD. Finalist – Rivergate Marina and Shipyard QLD.
  • Best Dry Stack Facility. Winner- Gold Coast City Marina QLD. Finalist – Sydney Boat House NSW.
  • Outstanding Contribution by an Individual to the Industry: Dr Ed Mahoney, Recreation Marine Research Centre Michigan State University USA.  William (Bill) Kirby was also acknowledged for his contribution to the QLD marina industry.     
  • People’s Choice Best Marina Employee. Winner – Jim Duncan, Soldiers Point Marina NSW. Finalists – Matilda Moon, Blue HQ, WA and Mark Riddell, Southport Yacht Club, QLD.